How The WWE Women’s Revolution Got Me Back Into WWE

I had fallen off of professional wrestling sometime in the early 2000’s. I always kept my ear to the ground though as I was aware of the bigger moments going on. Sometime around 2015, I just started watching Total Divas. Now say what you will say about the show and what it represents but it did pique my interest. Some of the podcasts that I listened to start listing women wrestlers that I was only vaguely aware of such as Charlotte Flair, Becky Lynch and Sasha Banks. So as I my interest in WWE started to rise again, the more I started to learn about the Women’s Revolution that started somewhat in NXT.

After I went to my first live wrestling event in over ten years, I started to learn more and more about the Women’s Revolution. It really solidified after the brand split in the WWE where half of the roster went to Raw or Smackdown. This helped things become much more focused and less crowded. So stars such as Becky Lynch went to Smackdown while Charlotte Flair and Sasha Banks stayed on Raw. Then there were old staples such as Nikki Bella, Naomi, Natalya who went to Smackdown. Paige stayed on Raw. Then there were call ups from NXT such as Nia Jax, Alexa Bliss, Carmella, Bayley. It was a good time.

Sure there have been some notable failures such as Eva Marie and the whole ongoing debacle that is Paige. But overall it has been a good time. I particularly love the Smackdown Women’s Division as there looks to be much more diversity in terms of personality. The feud between Sasha Banks and Charlotte Flair was one to watch that really culminated in the first women’s Hell in the Cell match that was also the first women’s match to be the main event of a pay per view.

This has really continued into Wrestlemania time where there were two women’s matches on the main card. At first the Smackdown women’s match was supposed to be on the pre-show but pressure put it on the main card. Sure both matches were multi-women matches but that’s still something. Neither matches were disappointing and all ten women performing got a moment to shine. This was one of those times that I can see all the women who performed as champion at some point or another.

Where would I like to see this goes? I would honestly like to see more championships added to the women’s division. There is only one belt for each brand but as more and more are added, it really becomes obvious there needs to be more prestige. A midcard type of belt and a tag team belt as well. The sky is the limit for the women’s division and I can’t wait to see where it goes.

Leave a Reply

