Why I Identify As A Feminist and Why I’m Proud Of It

Lately I’ve been telling people that I identify as a feminist. Usually I get certain looks when I say this. I chalk it up to my frankly gruff demeanor. But then someone else (a woman) told me that it might be that but it might be because it’s me being a man saying that. Either way I identify as a feminist and I’m proud of it. I have always said that I was raised by two strong women, my mother and sister. Before I continue, my father was very much in the picture and always in my life. But my mother and sister were and continue to be a strong influence in my life.

As I have grown older and my world has expanded, I see the trials and tribulations that women go through. Whether it comes to pay wages, sexual assault (verbal and physical), being looked over for jobs, casual and over misogyny, etc. It’s all really disheartening when you think about it. What kind of person would I be if I were to overlook these things? It would be selfish and entitled of me to think that these issues are not as big as they and not troubling either.

As stated earlier, I’m aware of why people might think I’m skeptical. I am a pretty gruff person with everyone and that includes women. But my motto has been, I’ll treat you as an equal. I will treat you the same way that I treat my fellow men. Yes I can be gruff but that does not mean that I do not care or invalidate your feelings or thoughts. So I can understand why that might raise some eyebrows but let’s not get it mistaken for anything other than what it is.

My name is Jarvis Reddick II and I’m proud to identify as a feminist.

Leave a Reply

