My First Convention Experience 

Now you would think with all my geeky interests, I would have attended conventions for most of my life. Sadly no. Either I was unaware of them or I was broke. That all changed in 2014 when I attended Phoenix Comicon for the first time. 

Not sure what exactly spurred me on for attending that year. Maybe I figured it was time to do something different. I alsl had no idea as to what to expect from the whole ordeal. Whenever you see comic book conventions represented in pop culture, it is usually to the point of parody. So I walked in and it was nothing like I had ever seen before.

There were of course the people dressed in costumes also known as cosplayers. There were panels which are these things where there is a topic of discussion led by one or multiple and they engage with the audience. Going down to the bottom level it was where things such as artwork, collectibles, clothing, etc. was sold. It was like I walked into a whole new world and I was having a great time. 

There was one thing that I definitely had to do. That was to meet the original Red Power Ranger actor Austin St. John. As many kids were doing the early 90’s, I was obsessed with the show. It was an interesting experience to say the least meeting the man. Nevertheless I am glad that I got to do it.

I was only there for one day but it was a fun day. I was exhausted by the end of it. I don’t think I’ve ever gone to bed at 8 PM since being an adult. The best takeaway from the experience? I was ready to go back the next year…and I did.

Leave a Reply

