Final Fantasy VII aka The Game That Changed My Life

media_cloud_big

One can say that I was into video games as a kid. I dabbled in them and I would read magazines about them. That being said, I wouldn’t say that I thought much about them. That all changed once I played Final Fantasy VII in 1997. I had to stay with a family friend during the day and they had a copy of Final Fantasy VII. I had never even heard of a role playing game or an RPG.

At first, I was enamored by the graphics. At the time they were revolutionary. This was what got me into the game. Then there was the ability that you could actually name your characters. Since I never played a RPG before I did not understand the mechanics of how the game was supposed to work. After countless failures, I started to get the gist of the game. If one has played the game, there is a certain part of the game where the story ultimately kicks in. This is what really drew me in.

I am someone who loves story. I really don’t like my entertainment if there is no story. While the story does have goofy elements, it soon develops into one another identity, loss, self worth and even environmental issues. There is a group of characters that on paper look like a box of toys laid out on the ground but they all have depth and deeper issues that continue throughout the game.

I first bought the game for myself in 1998 and have probably purchased the game about six other times due to its release on various platforms. It is a game that I probably play about every eighteen months. I can honestly say that it is my favorite video game of all time.

Leave a Reply

